BACKGROUND

THE FILM
DIRECTOR’S STATEMENT
BACKGROUND
CHARACTERS

DOCUMENTARY 2012 | 80 min
HD/35mm | 16:9

 
20 years ago, 125,000 people still lived in Venice, but today less than half as many remain, and the population dwindles every year by a few thousand more.

According to one study, there will be no more Venetians by the year 2030.

Indeed, the trend is to live outside the city, and every morning thousands of commuters travel from the mainland to Venice, where they work as chambermaids, waiters, bellhops and even gondolieri. The city itself is becoming a façade, an open-air museum, a Disneyland-style amusement park that is entirely left to the tourists.

This is a direct consequence of the mass tourism that the city has been subjected to for decades now. Every day, an average of 65,000 tourists flock to Venice, and during peak periods this figure rises to 400,000. Many of them arrive on board one of the cruise ships that daily pour some 10,000 people into the city.

The consequences are numerous: As the city’s population steadily decreases and the tourist monoculture continues to advance, infrastructure that is essential for the inhabitants’ survival gradually disappears. Public markets, supermarkets, and many shops that sell everyday items are closing their doors. Even cinemas are going out of business. And although the number of inhabitants constantly declines, real estate prices continue to rise. The buildings are used for commercial purposes, or sold to outsiders as secondary residences.

The city’s buildings are severely affected by the vibrations from the cruise ship engines.
This creates cracks in masonry and bridges, water penetrates, and the walls become porous. The big ships are not entirely responsible for the growing size and force of the waves however; the increased motor traffic on the canals of Venice that is generated by the city’s many hotels is too much for the old walls.

What’s more, the remaining city residents hardly benefit from even the positive impact of tourism. Of the €1.5 billion annual tourism revenue, only a minute portion flows back into city coffers – and is then used to cart away the mountains of refuse that the influx of visitors leave behind. Most of the money flows into the pockets of international tour operators.

HINTERGRUND

DER FILM
DIRECTOR’S STATEMENT
HINTERGRUND
PROTAGONISTEN

DOKUMENTARFILM 2012 | 80 min
HD/35mm | 16:9

 
Vor 20 Jahren lebten noch 125.000 Menschen in Venedig, heute ist es weit weniger als die Hälfte, und es werden jedes Jahr ein paar tausend weniger.
Einer Studie zufolge wird es 2030 keine Venezianer mehr geben.
 
Dafür pendeln jeden Morgen mehrere tausend Menschen vom Festland nach Venedig, um dort zu arbeiten. Als Zimmermädchen, Kellner, Gepäckträger und sogar als Gondolieri. Die Stadt selbst wird zur Fassade, zum Freilichtmuseum, zum thematischen Vergnügungspark im Stile Disneylands, den Touristen überlassen.
 
Es ist eine direkte Folge des Massentourismus dem die Stadt seit Jahrzehnten ausgesetzt ist. Durchschnittlich kommen jeden Tag 65.000 Touristen nach Venedig und in Spitzenzeiten sind es 400.000. Ein Großteil von ihnen kommt mit einem der Kreuzfahrtschiffe, die täglich um die 10.000 Menschen in die Stadt gießen.
 
Die Folgen sind zahlreich. So verschwinden mit dem steten Sinken der Einwohnerzahlen und dem Vormarsch der touristischen Monokultur Schritt für Schritt lebensnotwendige Infrastrukturen für die Bewohner. Öffentliche Märkte, Supermärkte, viele Arten von Geschäften des täglichen Bedarfs, auch die Kinos werden geschlossen. Und obwohl die Zahl der Einwohner ständig sinkt, steigen die Immobilienpreise weiter. Denn die Häuser werden gewerblich genutzt oder als Zweitwohnungen an Auswärtige verkauft.
Die Architektur leidet massiv unter der Vibration der Motoren der Kreuzfahrtschiffe. Sie erzeugt Risse in Gemäuern und Brücken, Wasser dringt in die Mauern und macht sie porös. Der erhöhte, scharfe Wellengang wird aber nicht allein von den großen Schiffen erzeugt. Ganz allgemein herrscht auf den Kanälen Venedigs durch die vielen Hotels ein Motorverkehr, dem die alten Mauern nicht gewachsen sind.
 
Selbst von den positiven Folgen des Tourismus profitieren die übriggebliebenen Bewohner der Stadt kaum. Von den im Tourismus erwirtschafteten 1,5 Milliarden Euro pro Jahr fließt nur der kleinste Teil in die kommunalen Kassen zurück, der dann dazu dient, die Müllmassen abzutransportieren, die die Besucherströme hinterlassen haben. Der Großteil des Geldes fließt in die Kassen von international agierenden Reiseanbietern.